top of page

This is not Good bye, See you later my Second Home. (Day 21-30)

Updated: Sep 29, 2018


My first day teaching in a class

August 27,2018|DAY 21

I went to Mitra Harapan at 7:30 am since there is flag ceremony I was a bit late because I thought that the volunteers are not yet arriving but the reason is the gate is locked so that’s why they can’t enter while I was waiting I was sticking scotch tape to my instructional material but when we arrived they were just about to start. While the flag ceremony was ongoing I was really nervous because this is my first time to teach the whole period per class with real children since in my university when we are demo teaching our students is our classmates so I was a bit scared as well because I’m not sure if I will be an effective teacher.


After the assembly I asked my cooperative teacher if I could stick the train I can say that it was not good as I imagined since I was really in a hurry, I did not get enough sleep and I was really nervous. The first grade students were all so nice and participative they enjoyed papa train because it was a big instructional material and its funny how they sing and they were all so excited to put the numbers inside the pockets. I was not able to maximize the time since there was still 15 minutes left from the time. I felt bad about it since I was not able to prepare well for that subject. Then I went back to the faculty, Ibu Tirsa asked me how I felt after teaching I told her that it was okay and I was really nervous. She made suggestions to me like always greet first, ask the students condition, check the attendance as well make sure I have a conclusion. I went to my next class which is the 3rd grade mathematics this is my focus class.


I prepared a lot of activities for them and my motivation part was the boat is sinking I was a bit shocked that they don’t have a game like this because in the Philippines it’s like a game that is played in every children’s party. I chose that because my topic is about multiplication and it’s how I represent that when you multiply it should be the same group of numbers like 2+2+2 it can’t be 2+2+3. The children enjoyed it and it’s really funny watching them panic and pull each other to be part of their group. I introduced the lesson after that, I can say that I gave my 101% in teaching the students since I know that when I teach I hope they learn something from me. After the discussion we ended the session with answering different problems and I gave them a bonus question wherein the first one to get the answer will receive a reward. After that we went back to the faculty and Ibu Mega told me that it was really interesting and she could see that the students really enjoyed it, she also told be to keep it up and just continue what I am doing. I felt touched since all my efforts were appreciated.


She also suggested the same thing with Ibu Tirsa that I should check the attendance and make sure I have a conclusion every end of the class. My first teaching is a successful one so I was really satisfied and happy but I have 3 classes to teach on Tuesday and I could feel that my body was about to give up on me. I went back to the dorm and of course they gave us free lunch which is chicken. After that I went inside my room and sleep first because I’m really tired. When I woke up I begin doing every presentation, worksheet, and instructional materials for my teaching tomorrow. We went to the printing shop to print all the things that we needed. It was fun and exciting going out alone without the volunteers since we were able to explore the place. We went to the canteen since we want to eat nasi goreng but it was closed already so we decided that we buy nasi goreng and chicken at rocket chicken. I can’t count how many times we ate there it’s because that is the only nearest food place that we know. We went back to the dorm and we ate there, after eating we get our laptops and we finish our works. I slept at 1 o’clock in the morning because I have so many things to prepare since I have 3 classes tomorrow.



August 28,2018|DAY 22

I have 3 classes today in Mitra Harapan which are English in the 6th grade, mathematics in the 3rd grade, and English in the 5th grade. My schedule today has no breaks in between but I was ready for it since I already know the schedule. When I entered the 6th grade their reaction was happy and that was good because it motivated me that even if I lacked some sleep I should still give my 101% for them. I started the class with the game charades I find it funny on how the students enact the word that I gave them at first they were shy about it but it was fun in the end. I introduced the lesson which is gerund after discussing it I asked them to give examples but since everyone does not like to volunteer I made an activity it’s like a stop dance but I used a pen and if the song stopped the one holding the pen should give a sentence using gerund.


It was a good activity since I was able to hear all their voices and this could show their understanding of the lesson. It was a good experience teaching them since I really enjoyed because after the game they were all participative and they are listening to me very well. After the 6th grade we went straight to the 3rd grade which is mathematics. So I started the meeting by giving the worksheet about the lesson last meeting. Then I started teaching about the cara bersusun panjang which is the long method they had difficulty because they are used to doing the short method I tried my best in discussing it and I was not able to check the time the class ended already but I was not able to discuss the second method which is cara bersusun pendek. After the 3rd grade I went to the 5th grade to teach polite requests I prepared a simple instructional material but hopefully it is an effective one. The students were able to answer and understand it since I think they are familiar with most of the phrases used in polite requests.


While I was discussing a lot of students were playing with the papers and I got annoyed so I told Ibu Tirsa and she confiscated all the papers after that the transition was smooth already. We went back to the faculty and I checked few papers since I gave a worksheet to the 5th and 3rd grade. We went back to the dorm because we have a meet and greet in UNIPMA at 3 with the physics majors. I took a nap first since I’m really tired, we went to the campus and the students of physics major were already there. So it was just like the meet and greet with the technology students. We presented and then they gave us questions and we have to answer it was not my best condition since I feel a bit sick that time. After the meet and greet we went to the printing shop for the lesson plan and the worksheet for my students tomorrow. We went back to the dorm by walking, we were about to use go jek but Mbak Intan is going to the dorm to help us buy dinner so I ordered cumi cumi penyetan, cumi cumi means squid. We ate late around 9 that’s why I was not that hungry anymore. Then I went straight to the things I’m doing for my lesson tomorrow. I went to sleep at 12 o’clock and I really miss having 7-8 hours sleep.



August 29,2018|DAY 23

I only have 2 classes today which are English in the 6th grade and cooking class for the 4th grade. I was really looking forward for my cooking class since they told me that we are going to cook traditional snacks of Madiun. So I went straight to my 6th grade because I was 3 minutes late and then we continued discussing about gerund but this time I showed the difference between the present participle and gerund. They were confused at first but I tried my best in giving examples. The 6th grade was really participative and I could see that they are paying attention. I gave them a worksheet after that and the meeting is like passing by since it ended fast. I told them that this would be my last time in teaching them because I will go back to the Philippines. Their reactions surprised me since they all told me that why do I have to go back and they are sad that it’s the last time. We took the picture together and I felt happy at the same time sad because I am going to leave them and happy because I was able to meet and teach all these amazing students.


Then I went at their hall where they celebrate big events that is where we are going to have the cooking class. They said that we are going to create _ and _ and both of them are from coconut and cassava. I helped in creating the _ where we have to mix cassava, coconut, sugar, salt, and the powder they put for the fragrance then we mixed it using our hands. We shape on like a ball and placed a filling inside the traditional one is brown sugar but we also created cheese, chocolate and strawberry jam. It was very time consuming to cook since it’s too many but I enjoyed it. The students sell the products to other year levels and they earn money from the food they created. I told Ibu Tirsa that I have to go since I need to prepare for my grand demonstration and 2 other subjects because I have 3 classes the next day. She let me and told me good luck so I thanked her since she was always there to guide me. I went back to the dorm and for the first time I did not sleep.


We were told that we should see the carnival but we can’t go since we have to prepare a lot for the grand demonstration which is tomorrow. So I worked really hard in preparing all the materials I will use not only for my focus class but also in the other classes tomorrow. We went out to print some worksheets and lesson plan. We also went to Boom Mart to buy some materials and I also bought notebooks for my focus class for souvenir so that they will remember me somehow. I was not able to eat the free food from mitra harapan which is the nasi goreng so Kim and I just bought chicken and partnered it with nasi goreng. After having dinner we went back to our work I was done earlier, so it’s a good thing I did not took a nap because I finished my work earlier. I was able to watch few videos from Youtube and I went to sleep.



August 30,2018|DAY 24

Today is my grand demonstration and my last day to teach in mitra harapan since on Friday I would only give a small test to the students in the 3rd grade. I went early today because I have a presentation in the morning assembly about the culture of the Philippines. After the assembly it’s my grand demonstration already. Ibu Ros told us that she would be late so I started my class she went in the middle of the class with Ibu Lestari I was a bit busy that time so I did not notice it and it did not made me nervous. The class was really active and at their best behavior that time so I am really thankful for my students.


We had an activity that I really prepared and I gave my utmost effort in thinking about what to do. I can say that it was successful since I could see that the students enjoyed it and hopefully they learned something. After the 3rd grade we went back to the faculty for the break I have 45 minutes break before my next class which is in the 1st grade. I was able to talk to Ibu Tirsa and we talked about what’s the requirement in joining seameo and other things. After that I went to my class and once again I introduced papa train to them the 1st grades were so active and everyone wants write and they also sing to call the baby numbers. They are very smart since they did not have any difficulty in writing the spelling of numbers and they finished the worksheet fast with correct answers.


Then I went back to the faculty afterwards I need to go to my next class which is in the 2nd grade and the topic is opposite words they were active but it was difficult for me to control their behavior because they keep on standing and shouting. They enjoyed it since I called students in front to demonstrate what’s in the picture like one student is laughing and the other student is crying. Then I gave a worksheet afterwards they were able to answer it so I was happy because even if they are noisy at least they are listening. When I returned to the faculty I was so happy because this was my last day teaching and I felt really relieved that I was able to complete and finished all the topics and classes. We went back to the dorm earlier than usual and we ate the free food given to us which is ayam penyet it’s like chicken covered in a sweet glaze I liked the taste and it was delicious.


They told us that we would go to UNIPMA at 3 pm for the photoshoot it was fun and new experience. We also took pictures with some of the buddies and they gave us free dinner so we do not need to buy food anymore. We went to the printing shop first because I have to print the test of the 3rd grade after that we went back to the dorm. Then we ate our free food, after eating I checked the papers and prepared the message for my focus class and I stick it in front of the notebook. Then Kim and I planned on what we’re going to do for our talent show in the farewell party on Sunday finally we decided that we will sing but we’re still unsure on what we’re going to sing. Since it’s already late I went to sleep already and I can’t wait for tomorrow because it would be my last time in attending classes in mitra harapan. I will miss the school but I miss Philippines more.



August 31,2018|DAY 25

Today we will have morning exercise in Mitra Harapan, the students we’re already on the roof top they are already preparing to start the morning exercise. There is a video and we just copied it I was shy at first but I still followed it I sweat a little actually. After that I went to the 3rd grade class where I will give the small test I asked them if they studied they said yes so I was like oh good. Then when I gave the test they are having difficulty in answering the long method multiplication so I felt sad since it’s like they did not study at the same time I was not effective also I asked them a lot of times if they are confused but they said no so I was really shocked that they do not know how to answer it.


The students took a long time to finish the test after that I went back to the faculty since I need to check the test papers first before I go home. So I checked it while I was checking I was really disappointed in seeing their answers it’s like I just don’t want to check it anymore. After checking there were only 5 students who got 90% plus and above but only 2 students got a score below 50% I don’t know how I’ll feel in seeing the results. Then I gave back their test papers and they were really shocked and told me how did I checked the papers so fast, so I told them I’m a machine and they were really amazed I find it funny. I gave them the notebooks afterwards and they asked few questions about me and my experience in Indonesia so that was the last time I would teach the 3rd grade. I also took photos with the teachers in Mitra Harapan and before I left I shook all of their hands and I really felt that this was my last day even though there is still farewell party on Monday.


I visited the kindergarten class and it was so cute since this is what my major is teaching and I really enjoyed seeing little children dancing and singing they are just too precious. After the class we took a picture outside the building of Mitra Harapan and we went back to the dorm afterwards. They told us that we should prepare at 2 because we will leave at 3 for interview about our experience in this sea teacher program so I took a nap for an hour and we went there already. We stayed there for a long time since they keep on retaking the videos because we keep on making mistakes, we went back to the dorm afterwards and we requested to the volunteers to eat at Mas Kevin’s restaurant so Me, Kim, Mas Rizal, and Mas Bintang went there we thought it was near but it was quite far but the food was delicious so it was worth it. When we were there Mas Baper and Mas Ridho went there as well and we had few conversation and we checked the time it was already 9 so we told them that we should go back to the dorm. We went back to the dorm and we looked for a song that we would perform in the talent show finally we have decided already. We need to wake up early tomorrow since we will go to a lake for our last city tour before we go back to the Philippines.



September 1, 2018|DAY 26

We went to sarangan today it’s like the Baguio version of the Philippines. The road is also alike since it’s like spiral going up, it’s also cold there and they sell fresh strawberries. The difference is there is 2 lakes there and it’s a tourist attraction. It was an hour and 30 minutes drive from Madiun to Sarangan, I was really sleepy so I just took a nap in the car. When I woke up I saw the lake which is famous since it is heart shaped. There were so many stalls there selling souvenir but it’s only sarangan and there is no Indonesia indicated so I was not able to buy a lot. I just bought key chains. We road speed boat with the mean girls which are Julia, Mbak Ana K., Kim and I, I really had fun even though the ride was only 5 minutes. After riding the speed boat we took a lot of pictures and also I took the opportunity to have photo with my buddies Mbak Ana K and Mas Puji.


Then we decided to eat sate, there is a famous sate there which is made from rabbit but I bought the chicken since I felt sorry for the rabbit. They asked us if we want to ride the horse but I said no since once again I feel sorry for the horse too. After eating we went around sarangan to look for souvenirs and we were able to buy keychain shaped like motorcycle, becak (traditional public transportation in Indonesia), wayang (traditional character). Then we went back to the car and we ate lunch sop ayam pecok it is from chicken with soup, it’s really tasty specially the broth after eating we went back to the dorm, then we went out again to look for the accessories and product for our hair. We went to 4 different places and it’s really tiring since we woke up early and we still didn’t take a rest.


We have to prepare at 7 since Ibu Dwi Ros our mentor will pick us up to get dinner. She is with her husband, Mega her daughter and her younger sister we went to Sun City Mall. We ate at a restaurant that is selling traditional Indonesian food, we orders 2 types of beef soup, fried pecel, and fried bananas for dessert. It’s one of the best meals I had in Indonesia and I was really full. We were checking accessories and Ibu Dwi Ros bought it for us, she was so nice to us and we were really touched. The buddies chat us that we should go to UNIPMA to practice our performance for the talent show so went there after bonding with Ibu Dwi Ros. Then we went home after practicing for a short while since we still have to edit the song, we finished late and we’re really so tired but this day is a productive one.



September 2, 2018|DAY 27

Today is our farewell party and we have to perform for the talent show. We woke up early since we need to fix our hair. They picked us up and we went straight to UNIPMA all the people who we met in our stay in Indonesia is there from the people from Cokro, Java Wilis, The salon, and also our mentors from our cooperating school. I was really nervous since I have to perform infront of these people. The rector, mayor of Madiiun, Pak Sigit said something first before we performed. The Thai students performed traditional dance then after them us we sang ang bayan ko.


Julia gave us a box inside it is a cute bracelet she told us that it was from the volunteers I was really touched that time. Then we took some pictures and we went to a room where we will eat, we had few great conversations with the people there then after eating we took more photos. After the farewell party we went back to the dorm and we sleep for a while then we went out to buy some souvenirs. We tried to go to traditional market to look for t-shirts selling madiun, Indonesia but sad to say there was none.


We went to a sport shop and I bought the internation jersey of Indonesia then we went to morni batik store and I bought a lot of products like the bags, pouch and scarf all made from batik. We went back to the dorm late and I ate ayam penyetan it was really a fun day and I can really feel that we’re are about to leave we only have 3 days left before we go back to the Philippines. While I was doing my narrative and letters for the people in Mitra Harapan Kim keeps on telling me that we should sleep already and it’s really unusual so I ignored her and told her that she should sleep if she’s really sleepy. So I slept at quarter to 12. Then I would continue the story tomorrow.



September 3, 2018|DAY 28

So now I would continue my story they woke me up 12 midnight and I was really shocked the first one I saw was Mbak Ana K and she was wearing a white long cloth and it’s also covering her face which is really scary but obviously I could not scream since I just woke up. I was really confused that moment since I really don’t know what is happening they decided to open the lights and greeted me a happy birthday and that’s when I realized oh yes it’s my birthday today. They asked me to go outside and gave me cute cake and sparkling candles meaning it was so hard to put it off after singing they told me that Julia acting mad at me for 5 days long was also part of the prank and I was really shocked and annoyed that I literally threw my slippers at Kim since she never gave me a hint or idea and she just kept quiet even it made me worried and bothered for 5 days long. Julia gave me also a cute bracelet in a pink box and a bag that is also colored pink since pink is my favorite color.


After eating the cake we went back to the room and I was still in shocked that they prank me that hard without even giving a hint. I woke up at 8 in the morning since today is my farewell party in Mitra Harapan. When I went there I was really staring at the vicinity of Mitra Harapan slowly since days passed by really fast and this is really my last day and I have to say good bye now. We first went to a room because they presented us the certificate and a gift they also gave me a photo album containing all the important moments I had in Mitra Harapan also a box containing the letters from the elementary students which were my students as well and they gave me batik a famous cloth in Madiun. After that we went to the 3rd floor where all the students were waiting for me they prepared a simple event for me it was really sad to say farewells to those people who’ve been a huge part of my life we ended it by shaking their hands one by one like we did on my first day.


It was really sad and I intimately hold their hands and look at their eyes, there was this boy who did not shook my hand on the first day but he shook my hand today and he does not want to let go of my hand I was about to cry saying farewell to my cooperating teacher and all the teachers inside the faculty, we took my one last photo there and that’s it good bye Mitra Harapan thanks for all the memories we shared together. We went back to the dorm and Mas Puji told us to get ready since we are going out to look for souvenir shirts so luckily we already found a store selling it and I felt fulfilled that my souvenir is complete even though I was not able to find any refrigerator magnets. We went back to the dorm to prepare since we have a dinner with the vice rector of UNIPMA he brought us to __ we ordered fish, we just shared it since it’s really big it was a really a good meal. We returned to the dorm after eating and I was staring outside then I saw Mas Rizal inside the dorm I was confused since boys are not allowed inside the dorm and everyone is running and they turned off the lights and I was like is this a farewell party what are they doing. They told me that I should enter first but I told them I don’t like since they might scare me again but I opened the door slowly and the first one I saw is Mas Bintang hiding it was really funny they opened the lights and they all sand happy birthday I was really grateful for them because I did not felt sad on my special day knowing that this was my first birthday without my family but I was really touched and this turned out to be one of my best birthdays. We ate the martabak which served like a cake and it’s one of my favourite food in Madiun. After eating and laughing Julia vomited and we were all in the panic mode looking for tissue, plastic bags, and mops and we kept on laughing at her since she has no extra clothes to wear. This day is one of the most memorable days here in Madiun, Indonesia.



September 4, 2018|DAY 29

This is my last day in Madiun, Indonesia and we have a lot of things to do. First is we have a gathering with the people in Asrama with Ibu Diana, second we have to go to UNIPMA to have a short meet and greet with the first years, third we have to go to the batik store and cokro, and lastly last hangout with them in the karaoke.


Our first agenda is in the dorm we were able to meet the first years who are staying in the dorm we had a few conversation and we took a picture with them we haven’t eaten breakfast yet and it was 11 that time so I was really hungry I suggested that we should eat rocket chicken for the last time so we went there and I ordered 1 pc chicken with milo. After that I was able to nap for an hour before the meet and greet we went there and shared few things about our country and they asked questions to us, after the meet and greet we went to the international office to say good bye to Ibu Happy, Ibu Lestari, Pak Sigit, and Pak Joko we took pictures and gave them one tight hug and we bid good bye. So we went straight to batik murni and I bought chanting which is the tool used in making batik then we went to Cokro and we met mas Ridho there we bought bread for our family and also for our administrator. After that we went to alpha mart first and we ate maki it was a good snack even though there is no wasabi.


We went back to the dorm first to fix our luggage first after finishing packing we went out to go to the karaoke. We stayed there for 2 hours and we sang our throat out I really had fun and when we went to the parking Mas Toriq and Mbak Mifta told us they could not accompany us in the airport so it was our last time to see each other so we hugged them and thanked them then we said good bye I was trying my best to hold my tears back then we went to __ to buy dinner. We arrived at the dorm at 11 so we ate really fast because we will leave at 11:30 to go to the airport. The car arrived at 12 and we went inside and I sleep first since it’s a 2 hour drive.

September 5, 2018|DAY 30

They woke us up and it’s already 2 that time so we went to a place first to drink hot tea before they drop us in the airport we laughed together for a moment and it’s already 3:00 so we have to go now because we have to be there at 3:30. When we were in the airport we were okay at first but when it’s our time to go in the airport mbak Ana and Julia started to cry and I cried as well because it made me think that we don’t know when we can see them again or if we can still see them again. We hugged them tight and we said good bye it was really a sad moment for both of us and that’s how my journey in Madiun, Indonesia ended. It is and would always stay in my heart and my mind. Thank you for the 30 days of laughing, crying, doing silly things together and all the memories. We will see each other again and Madiun, Indonesia will be my second home.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
000 PHILIPPINES.gif

Nadine

000 PHILIPPINES.gif
bottom of page