top of page

I'm Starting to Love this Country! (Day 7-13)

Updated: Sep 29, 2018



August 13, 2018|DAY 7

We don’t have classes in Mitra Harapan today since we have a welcoming party in UNIPMA. So we woke up at 7 in the morning and we have to be ready at 8 o’clock. They prepared so much for this and it’s a bit overwhelming since they did that for us. They really made us feel welcome in the university; we used a bike to go there. When were a bit late so everyone was in a hurry they made us brisk walk towards the hall and everyone is waiting for us there. We made two lines and we started walking it’s like I’m walking down the aisle because everyone stood up and they are clapping hands for us. The feeling is so unusual because I felt nervous and at the same time happy and proud. Nervous because there’s a lot of people that time, happy because I’m really in awe that they are welcoming us with opening arms, and proud since I am here representing my university and my country.


We stood up first in front of everybody and they made us introduce ourselves in bahasa of course. Whenever we introduce ourselves I really feel happy when I say selamat pagi and they respond with pagi it’s nice to hear it. Then we taught them few words from our country and I notice that a lot of people were shocked since there are words that are the same with theirs but different meaning. The rector of UNIPMA gave us a puppet it is a traditional thing used there. Then they made us sat down and there was a performance of their traditional dance in Madiun. After the performance the rector gave a few speech and then they made us go to the book to see the tradition food prepared for us. Then we had pictures with a lot of people and also they interviewed us about our stay here in Madiun, Indonesia I felt like an instant star it was really overwhelming and funny.


Then we went straight to another room because we have a lecture with Ibu Agita about some culture and habit of Indonesian people. Since we went there late she has to make the discussion faster but we did not felt that way since she was able to deliver it nicely. She always asks us if it’s the same in our country and yes a lot things were the same like putting the arm of the elder in your forehead to show respect as well as the use of mbak and mas in calling your elder sister and brother we have it in the Philippines. There were also few differences like they don’t usually give tips to people because in the Philippines we usually give them also the transportation here is different like they only have few public transportation but in the Philippines there’s a lot. After the lesson there was someone who came from the local radio and he wants to ask few things and he interviewed me it was the same questions they asked earlier.


We ate lunch after that we decided to eat in the nearby canteen, we ate nasi goreng with meatballs inside. It’s one of the best nasi goreng I tasted so far because the vendor there made a special spice just for us since we do not like spicy food. They told us that we could come back at 3 pm for the event for the organizations in their university but after we eat we received a text that we should go there already and that’s 1 o’clock so we went there and I could feel my body is really tired and sleepy. Then the program started and we were introduced so we stood up and bowed like when they call the panelist I was quite shy to do it. When they saw that we’re really tired they allowed us to go to the dorm already and I was really thankful since I am trying to control myself not to sleep during the program. We arrived at the dorm and we immediately went to sleep since all of us are really tired. When we woke up the buddies who we’re in the dorm asked us what we wanted to eat and I was craving for sate so we told them that we want to eat that. So Mas Bintang went to the nearest place where sate is sold and they said that they would order sticky rice that is wrapped to banana leaves we call that suman in our country. When the food arrived each of one us has 10 sticks of sate and 1 long rice. It was a good and heavy meal I was not able to finish the rice since it was too many. After we ate of course talking with them is a usual thing we do before going to sleep and that is how my day went.



August 14, 2018|DAY 8

Today is their scouting day I was a bit late but I saw how they do it. I was a bit confused at first since I don’t their routine; I just followed what they are doing because I don’t know what to do. After the scouting assembly I already have my observation in the class. The first class I observed is the 6th grade and the subject is English and I’m with Ibu Tirsan. She handles the class good since they follow her instructions easily. The topic is about polite request and the students made their own dialogue and sentences. She made activities that are interesting for the students and when it’s about time it’s like they don’t want to end the class anymore.


I enjoyed the activity as well since it’s so fun to see the students thinking about the sentences they should say. After that we went back to the faculty I find it touching that every children seeing me greets me “Hi Ms. Nadine”with a wave and that smile also brings smile on my face. I was in the faculty room and they gave us free snacks they are really nice and hospitable because they do not have to. Some students went inside the faculty and they greeted me, I was really out of words when 2 students asked for my signature and they want it on their hands others followed them and also formed their line I find it funny. Then we went to the 2nd grade students which is my class focus they are bright students and Ibu Evan manage them really well since she has a big voice that could call the attention of the students but since they are in 2nd grade they are quite talkative and they keep on standing. I had difficulty in communicating with the students since not all of them are good in speaking in English but never the less some are good in English so they are able to respond to the things I’m saying. It’s a good thing that I memorized 1-10 in bahasa Indonesia and I try to implement it there so they understood be a bit. Some students gave me a letter and a keychain from bali I was really thankful and I felt loved after receiving it. We went back to the faculty after the math class and they prepared lunch for us which is ayam geprek.


Supposedly I have a class in the 3rd grade but the schedule is wrong so they allowed us to go back to the dorm. When we went back to the dorm I ate my lunch and it’s good since it’s not too spicy and it fits my taste bud. After eating I went back to our room since I’m really tired and I need to take a long good nap and that’s what happened I felt recharged and good because I felt I bit sick due to exhaustion because we always lack of sleep then we wake up really early. When I woke up I felt a bit hungry so I asked Kim to come with me and go to the store near the sport complex.


We told our buddies and they ask us if they will accompany us but we said that we’re okay and we can handle it so they allowed us. When we went out we saw Mas Thoriq so he asked us where are we going so we said that we will buy some snacks he told us that if we want he could come with us but we insisted that we can do it so we just asked him what is how much in bahasa Indonesia is so he told us that it is “berapa banyak” so we went there by ourselves. I was a bit nervous since the vendor do not understand English so I just got the things that I wanted and I gave it to her then Kim said how much in bahasa they answerd us in bahasa as well and our faces looked confused so one of the vendor said 10,000 then I gave 50,000 they gave us the change and they told us something but obviously we couldn’t understand it. We were like struck my medusa that time since we just stared each other because we couldn’t understand when they gave us the money that’s when we realized what they meant which is we have to give 1,000 back since they gave us 41,000 we felt happy and proud since we were able to accomplish it. When we went back to the dorm then they asked us what happened so we retold them the story and they find it funny well we find it funny as well. So the lesson of this story is we should not leave on our own but well it was a great experience. After that they told us that we would eat to a famous and delicious near our dorm and it’s called penyetan. I ordered lele which is catfish and milo because I really missed it. When the food arrived it’s full of fried things but it did not disappoint me since it’s really delicious specially the sambal with tomatoes it really complements everything. I finished it without any leftovers and I told them that we should eat this the next day. It was almost 10 o’clock when we finished our dinner so we immediately went back the dorm and we had few conversations then we went to sleep.




August 15, 2018|DAY 9

Today I went to school early at 7:30 in the morning because we have activities for independence day one is we had a fun walk. We walk outside the vicinity of the school it’s quite tiring since it’s a 30 minutes walk and the sun is too bright. I had a great time since I was able to bond and communicate with some of the students in mitra harapan. We had a break in a playground and they had snacks the students gave me chocopie and beng beng I was really grateful for them. I also tasted traditional cookies it was given by the students there. They entertained me also by dancing and singing kpop well they sure are talented children. We walk back to mitra harapan and I stayed in the faculty for a while. Since today is for the celebration of independence day there is no classes in the morning so they had small competitions and it was fun to watch children cheering and competing to the games. The face they make when they win is priceless. Two students gave me a letter and my heart literally fluttered because I was so touched that they made an effort in giving me a letter with a design. After the games we went back to the room and they gave us free lunch again and today the food is fried chicken and noodles it’s a good meal indeed. We have one class before the day ends and it’s in the 4th grade but since they are all tired the class will not push through anymore because they have competitions for grade level in align to the celebration of Independence day. So that ends my day in mitra harapan we went back straight to the dorm after that and I brought the lunch given to me and I ate it in the dorm.


Like yesterday I felt really tired so I just went back to the room after eating and I took a nap. Then we went to the common room in the dorm and we stayed there to bond with the buddies then the twin of Mbak Ana came and she brought food at first when they are putting it in the plate I taught of fish ball that was sold in our country and there’s a fried chicken feet with a sauce that looks like it’s full of sambals. So I asked them what that was and they told us that it’s the cheaper version of meatballs and this dish is called pentol mbak yanti. They told us that it’s really famous and there’s only 1 store who sells this that’s why there is always a long line when you want to buy it and it’s only available in the afternoon since it’s always sold out. So we ate it and it’s really tasty, it’s everyone’s favorite that’s why the meatballs was finished in just a few minutes. At first I was a bit scared to deep in the sauce but when I tried it, it’s not too spicy and it really complements it and it was really addicting. Then they told us to try the fried chicken feet they said that we could the bones of the chicken feet since it’s really soft and we asked how they did that, they responded that it’s a special method of cooking. So I tried it and yes the bones are really soft that you would not notice that there’s bones in it you’ll think that it’s already fillet.


After finishing it we went back to our room and we took a nap of course since we always feel that we lack some sleep. After waking up they told us that we will go to the mall because we keep on saying that we want to go to the mall. We went to Sun City Mall it’s quite big but there are only few stores in it. They went first because Julia and I took a u-turn when we arrived at the mall we can’t find them after a while finally we saw them. We went inside the department store to check some clothes since the Thai participant wants to buy some clothes. Then after that Kim wants to buy a small bag so look for a store where they sell a cheap one after few minutes she found a bag, so went up in the food court the maki is already sold out so we looked for another food and we saw burger when we’re about to buy it Julia told us that we should eat in the dorm so we weren’t able to buy it , it’s a bit sad since we were craving for it. Then Julia told us that we should see a view where this mall is famous for. So went to the other side and we saw a mini carnival with rides and lanterns that is good for photography. We took few pictures then they wanted to ride the swing like what we have in enchanted kingdom. I rode it but Kim did not and it was funny to see everyone so scared since it was there first time to ride it after the ride we went to a local food store where they sell cooked food. When we’re there, we cannot eat the food there because most of it is too spicy for us. Mbak Ana told us that we should just buy penyetan. We went there and we bought a different one which is the chicken version of penyetan. When we tasted it, it’s still good since it’s a different protein. I finished it and asked for more sambals with tomatoes to Kim because I really liked it. After eating we went to the room since we have to sleep because we still have to go to school tomorrow early in the morning.



August 16, 2018|DAY 10

Today is my presentation day and I was a bit late but they waited for us. When I saw the students preparing I was nervous since they are many and the place is big. They first to the usual things they do and after that it was my time to speak. It’s a good thing that Ibu Tirsan is there to translate the things I’m saying. I’m happy that the students their find my presentation interesting since I placed some facts about the Philippines. After my presentation they were given a chance to ask me questions and their questions are interesting like do I enjoy teaching or what my favorite sport it, I find it cute since the students who asked me are in lower grade levels because they would be given a notebook if they asked a question to me. What I was surprised was even though there is no prize anymore a lot of students still wants to ask me questions and I was grateful because that means they paid attention to my presentation.


This is my first day in being a assistant teacher I was a bit unsure if I could really assist since there is a language barrier between my students and I don’t know how I can help and assist them with their activities but I just did my best in trying to explain things to my students. The first class I attended as an assistant teacher is math for 2nd grade students they are discussing about hundreds and they need to think of 6 combinations coming from 3 numbers. The students are smart since they understand the lesson quickly after the discussion there’s an activity prepared for them they were assigned to pairs and they need to find the 6 combinations from 3 numbers. Since there is an absent student I became the pair of that student. He was given 6,3, and 9 and he teases me that 9 is also 6 but I already told him that it is Sembilan which is 9 in Bahasa Indonesia I just smiled at him since I know he is teasing me but he did it by himself because he is an intelligent boy and he can do it without any help from me. When the class is about to end one student gave me a keychain from bali and I felt happy of course so I thanked her in Bahasa Indonesia which is terima kasih and gave her a huge smile. We went back to the faculty and we had some snacks when I was eating the snacks I opened my laptop because I need to make the presentation for the meet and greet since we were just notified last night and we’re really tired so I was just able to finish the educational system in the Philippines but not the culture. I made sure to finish the content of the presentation fast since I have to send it to Kim who is in the dorm because she need to put design for the powerpoint, good thing was I was able to send it to her early. While waiting the students from the 5th grade told me that there is are games for teachers and I should join also so I followed them outside. The games are traditional ones played during the Independence Day here in Indonesia while they are setting up the games one student approached me and gave me a coin purse shaped like a turtle.


The students here are really thoughtful; a lot of students approached me and talked to me. I find it sweet when they hug me and hold my hand it’s like I have a lot of children. I joined the game where I have to eat the krupuk without using my hand it’s funny because they crumbs went to my face and I did not win obviously since it’s my first time doing it but I enjoyed it. The other one is I need to balance a “bilao” on my head and reach until the head, the games are really fun and it’s good that I tried it since it’s a one time opportunity. After the games we went back to the faculty room and waited for my next class in 5th grade and subject is science. When I entered they have an activity which is they make do it yourself clays and I look at the students work and tried to help them since they could understand me because most of them knows how to speak in English. I was stuttered when Ibu Tirsan asked me to explain what the difference of any and few is because I was not prepared yet I tried my best in explaining it to them even though I was not able to think of the answers thoroughly. We went back to the faculty and we asked permission if we could leave already since we have meet and greet in the campus at 2 o’clock in the afternoon. I was in a hurry since Kim and I need to prepare for our presentation for the meet and greet. I brought food for both of us, when I entered the room Kim told me that she already finished designing the presentation and I felt relieved I told her that we should eat first and while eating we should practice our presentation but the clock is moving too fast and Julia knocked already and told us that we should prepare because we need to leave in 10 minutes I was really shocked since I still don’t look presentable but I don’t what happened I think I’m like flash since we were able to prepare on time.


I’m really grateful for the training we have in our university because we managed to finish it even under pressure and in a short time only. We went to the campus using our bike and we’re all in a hurry. Julia told me that there are a lot of people and I was really scared and nervous because I thought we’re going to present in front of them. The good news is they just want us to introduce ourselves because they are the freshmen students of UNIPMA, they we’re all nice when we greeted them and they also tried saying the words we have in both Filipino and in Thai I was not nervous anymore since we’ve been doing that since the first day. After we introduce ourselves we need to go since we have meet and greet with the Information technology students.


So we went upstairs and we saw the college students there when I saw them I suddenly became nervous because we were not able to prepare that much for our presentation. The thai students went first and their presentation was done already and my knees are shaking at first but when we started the presentation and everyone seems friendly I gain my confidence and I was able to talk and start our presentation. I’m glad that our presentation went well and I think we were able to present our school and our country nicely and proudly since we made sure that we placed the best qualities we have as a Filipino and as a Thomasian. After our presentation there were 2 questions raised to us which is the meaning of a flag and what we usually do during our Independence day and we were able to answer it the best we can. There was no more time left so that was the only questions asked to us. We had picture taking afterwards and they told us we could go back to the dorm already. I was really glad since I’m really tired because we had long day. They told us that we should take a rest and we will go out for dinner in the café. So we had a great nap and when we looked for our buddies they told us that we cannot go anymore since one of the Thai students is sick so they just bought food for us just like the food we ate last night it’s still good but I was a bit fed off already because we’ve been eating it for 3 straight days. We had some tea before sleeping and we talked to our buddies about why they chose their majors and when did they learn how to speak in English. We went to bed afterwards.




August 17, 2018|DAY 11

Today we are celebrating a special event in Indonesia which is their Independence day it was nice that we were able to witness and celebrate this special day with them. We woke up early as usual because we have to go to the ceremony in the campus we left the dorm at around 6:15 and we use our bicycle of course because it’s near our dorm. It was my first time to see how they do their ceremonies and it’s really different from what we do in the Philippines during the Independence day. I was placed in front and I told them that I do not understand and it would be difficult for me to follow what they are doing since I cannot see anyone. But I just go with the flow with what they are doing. It’s quite embarrassing because I made few mistakes since I was not able to see the person beside me and I was a bit late in the things they are doing. The ceremony took a while since the speech is too long but they said it’s just a normal thing they do and they have it every Monday so they are used to it already. I can feel my knees hurting already because we are not allowed to move and it’s also shaking. When mas Thoriq told me that the ceremony is finished in my mind I was happy because my knees hurt already I think this are a sign of aging.


After the ceremony they told us after we eat breakfast we could go back to the dorm and sleep until 3 pm so we had breakfast in a street food I had chicken and eggplant. I really like the taste of chicken since it is like barbeque and it’s a bit spicy while the eggplant is sweet and spicy I enjoyed it with rice and milo as my drink. When I asked mbak Enggar if you could put as much as you want since we are the one who puts it in our plates, she said yes and I was curious if they do not get bankrupt if that is how they manage their business and she just told me that’s how they really do it. So I learned another lesson I should get more when I eat there. We went back to the dorm and we were able to sleep it was a good and long nap indeed. Then we had late lunch which is Soto the serving is too big so we only finish one serving. We’re waiting for Julia to wake up since we will look for a place where there are games that they traditionally do during Independence day.


We went out riding our bikes and we tried to look for places but sad to say that we failed since one of the buddies told us it’s because we went out too late and the games is already finished. So we decided to go to a convenience store and buy ice cream. It was my first time to see a brand named “aice” and they told us that it’s a local brand sold in Indonesia only. I bought mocha ice cream and chocolate coated ice cream Julia paid it for us since she is really nice and caring. We stayed first in front of the complex since mas Puji is not allowed to enter the girl’s dormitory anymore. I ate the mochi ice cream first it’s really good and I felt happy after eating it. Then I ate the chocolate coated ice cream the flavors they have are really interesting because it’s not the usual flavors we see in our country with that kind of price it’s really cheap but the quality is good. After eating the ice cream Julia told us that there is sunset but it’s not visible since the building is blocking it so we decided to just take a picture and we kept on laughing because the way Julia says 1,2,Jump is really funny. When we’re finally done taking the pictures we went inside our dorm and we take a rest for a while because we’re invited to go to Kim’s assigned school since they have camping. We went out at 6:30 during the night and we ate dinner at warung d’ steak they told us that this is famous it is flattened meat that has coating and it’s fried. We ordered the double steak because we really missed beef but there steak is different to what we’re used to. It was okay since I taste the breading more than the meat we ate it really fast since we’re running late for the camping.


When we arrived the school we’re grateful since the bonfire is not yet starting they were only doing there yell’s which is like a cheer per team. The boys name is from the animals while the girls are from the flowers. I find it interesting since the last time I joined scout is when I was in the fourth grade so I really can’t remember the things we’ve done during that time. I met the cooperating teacher of Kim as well as the other officials in her school they are nice as well just like in Mitra Harapan. We introduced ourselves to the children and they made us say things in bahasa Indonesian that is usually said during scout I had difficulty since everything they are saying is fast but I was able to manage and say it to the children. The good things they respond good so I was not that embarrassed. We saw the bonfire was lighted and it was a good sight to see. They asked us to introduce ourselves in bahasa Indonesia and that’s the usual thing we do after that they made us do chants and I was a bit confuse since I don’t understand it and it’s difficult to memorize since they said it once only but I was able to said it so I’m happy. After that they want us to sing and I was really frustrated since I’m shy to do it, but since they requested it and all the students are saying sing a song we did it we sang ang bayan ko. The students show their talents and they asked us to join in dancing as well. They made us sing, dance, and do our yells there it’s a bit embarrassing but I had lots of fun since everyone is happy and enjoying. They were too generous they even gave us snack to eat, I am also grateful for inviting us to see how they do scout in Indonesia. Today was a long day yet a very productive one. I could say that this is one of the fun days I have in Indonesia.



August 18, 2018| DAY 12

We woke up early today since we have city tour, we are already up at 6 o’clock and we need to be ready at 7 in the morning. It was a bit hard to wake up and prepare ourselves that early since we are really tired and we lack sleep. Julia went to our room to check if we are ready to go and she told us to wear warm and comfortable clothes since we’re going to the mountains but we still wore our pants since we did not know when she said mountains we have to climb the mountains. We went outside and it was a bit sad since we are only few because 2 of our buddies can’t come since they have a meeting in their organization and the others can’t come since the 2 sea teachers participants are sick and they have to accompany them. It was me, Kim, Mas Thoriq, Mas Rizal, Mas Kevin, Mbak Mifta, Mbak Nafi, Mba Ana, Ibu Lusi and Ibu Lia we went inside the car and we stopped by to get the snacks there’s a lot inside the box klepon is there as well a tart and other traditional desserts. It only took us 30 minutes to arrive in our destination. We went to the area where they accommodate their visitors. They made us sat down and they talked about few things about their community and what they do there. They conserve the tradition they have they also said that the government is supporting them to maintain and continue the tradition and culture they have. I find it interesting since they are still into and continuing what their ancestors left them.


He showed us the things they use when they are doing the traditional dance and rituals in their community. He made us go to the other room for us to see the traditional musical instruments they use when they are performing, they allowed us to play some of the instruments and it’s really interesting. The rituals or performance they do is famous because they are only few who preserve that kind of culture. He brought out the horses not a real one it is used when they are performing they made us carry it and we took a picture. They told us that when they do rituals during special occasions they call the spirits and it will possess the dancers, they lose their minds after that and they eat glass, coconut and other things which ordinary people can’t do. The head of the one preserving the ritual told us a background story about the dance they are doing and after that he showed us the animals (2 dragons, lion, wild boar, and a bull) which are the gods in the forest and the king defeated them and they supported the king after that. They served us coffee while they are telling the story. I tasted it and it’s really bitter since there is no sugar in it but since I like coffee I still finished it. Indonesian coffee is different from our country since the coffee sinks down the cup and it’s not mixed with the water also the coffee is thicker than the usual coffee I tasted. After that we went back to the car because we are going to the farm where the coffee plant is there. I thought it’s like a field but I was shocked that it was in the mountain. When we started walking I thought it was only a short distance but it was a long one, it was okay at first since there is still a cemented road in the mountain, we continued to walk and the road is already gone so that’s when are adventure started. There are a lot of trees, plants, and animals we saw there like cocoa tree, palm and there’s this bird with a head that is like the tiger. It’s really scary since the path way is really steep and if we made a one wrong step there is a chance we could fall from the mountain since there is no safety gear at all.


The journey is really long then we saw a stream and we stopped there so we could take a rest for a few minutes I did not go near it since I’m already tired and I’m having anxiety whenever I see rocks far from each other it’s like I’m watching a scary/thrill movie. After a short stop we continued to wake and we finally reached where the coffee plant is I felt relieved that time since it’s already over. We took few photos there and they made us taste the fruit its sweet and at the same time bitter. After that we went back at first I was able to continue walking but when we’re already near finish line the rest of the road are in a upward position I could not catch my breath since I have a mild asthma so it’s a good thing that Pak Sigit is there and he made me ride the motorcycle. I rested for a few minutes and I tried to catch my breath.


After that long adventurous journey we went back to the place we stayed earlier. They prepared traditional food for us I somehow enjoyed it since it’s healthy and it was my first time to taste it in Indonesia. They told us few things about the food and then we eat already. We had conversation with the people there about the tradition they are preserving after that they showed us the step by step process in making the coffee. They use natural materials and the old way in making their coffees no machines used all manpower. That’s why their coffee is expensive it costs 150,000 rupiah but I think it’s worth it if you buy it since it’s all natural meaning it’s really healthy. They told us that the coffee beans has gender as well male beans are round shaped while the female is like half circle shaped. When they plant the male seed it won’t grow any plant it’s only the female seed that can grow the coffee plant. They also told us about the benefits of their coffees which makes you a healthier person. They asked us if we could promote their community and product Java Wilis and of course we said yes since we are really grateful for the great accommodation they gave us. It’s a bit embarrassing since we are not that prepared so I can’t remember the things I’ve said there. After that we had a lot of group pictures and we shake the hands of the people there and we bid our farewells one of the Pak there told us that he likes balut so when we go back we should bring our friends and balut. We went back to the car and I was really exhausted I went to sleep for about 15 minutes and we’re already back to our dorm. I went straight to our room took a shower and slept for 2 and a half hours since my body feels weak already.


I woke up at 5:30 because we have to go to church but Julia is still asleep so it was not push through and we will just go to church on Sunday early in the morning. She asked us what we want to eat for dinner since we really miss western food we told her we want to eat burger I was already imagining the juicy beef in my burger then she knocked from our door and told us to go to their room. When we went there they bought us pentol mbak yanti it is meatballs and chicken feet which I was craving I mentioned it to them yesterday. I was really touched because they bought it for us and my heart felt happy. After finishing it we went to Mamma Mia to eat burger I felt a bit disappointed since I was imagining beef and they only sell chicken burgers there but it’s fine because it still burger. Kim and I ordered it I also got tetarik which is tea that contains condensed milk it was a great meal and I was really full. We went back to our dorm and we had a great conversation with Julia because we misunderstand one of business of the volunteer we taught that he is selling “sticks” but what they meant was “steak” so we find it funny and we kept on laughing since we have to wake up early we ended our conversation and she went back to her room.That sums up my day and I need to sleep early because tomorrow we need to go to the church.



August 19, 2018|DAY 13

We went to church today and as usual Julia was there to accompany us since she is the only buddy that is a Christian. We rode a bike to go to the church it was really cold since it was early in the morning. It’s good that we arrived there on time because last Sunday we’re a bit late. While the mass is on-going Julia translated everything to us in English in the best way she can. It was a good mass celebration because I was able to take the Holy Eucharist but what the priest said was stuck in my head and that is you don’t need to receive the Holy Eucharist to be able to say that God is with you it’s the faith that counts. After the mass we went to Alpha Mart since I have to buy something and I miss drinking coca cola. We haven’t eaten breakfast yet so I can’t drink the soda that’s why I suggested that we should eat some breakfast first. We went to this local street food where we ate breakfast during the Independence day I ordered the same thing but the vendor put a lot of sauce in it that’s why it’s spicier than before but of course I finished it since I like the taste of the eggplant and the chicken that taste like spicy barbeque chicken. Julia gave as poco since she noticed that I was a bit struggling since it’s too spicy I ate a lot because I can feel my mouth burning already. We bought some take outs for the other buddies and participants who are in the dorm then we went back to the dorm. When I drank the coca cola I felt refreshed and it’s so satisfying since I was not able to buy coca cola from the first day I came here in Indonesia but in the Philippines most of the time I drink it. Then we went back to sleep since it’s still 9 o’clock in the morning and Julia informed us that we will eat lunch at 1 and our lunch is one of my favorite dishes here in Madiun, Indonesia and that is pentol mbak yanti the meatballs and fried chicken feet. Julia knocked in our door asking if we want coklat which is a famous chocolate drink here so I said yes for the both of us since Kim does not want to wake up. I can’t go back to sleep so I got the broom and dustpan and I cleaned our room.


When I was about to finish cleaning the room they told us that the food is already there so we should go out already so I wake Kim up then we ate pentol mbak yanti I still like the taste even though I ate it yesterday the sambal really complements it. While eating we had a great conversation with Julia and the other 2 sea teacher participants from Thailand. After that we decided to clean our white shoes since it turned brown because of the mountain hiking yesterday. While cleaning it we realized that our bathroom is already dirty so we cleaned it as well. I took a nap after cleaning our dorm since it’s a bit tiring but I like how clean our room is it’s looks good as the first time we stayed here. After having a 2 hour recharging nap I opened my laptop to retrieve the photos since it was not successfully transferred and I already deleted it from my phone sad to say that it can’t be retrieved anymore. It’s only us the participants who are left in the dorm so we are waiting for the buddies to come back so we can have our dinner.


Julia is back from tutoring her student we ordered Chinese food from go-jek we’re already hungry since we ordered it at 8:22 in the evening. The food arrived at 9 in the evening and it’s worth the wait. Since it’s really big serving and we’re just 5 in the dorm. We are like having a feast since we have buttered chicken, sweet and sour fish, fried squid, stir fried noodles, and fried rice. My stomach was so full that made me sleepy. We talked about what we’re going to perform for our farewell party and we had a funny conversation in it. Our tummy is full and my day is complete as well.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
000 PHILIPPINES.gif

Nadine

000 PHILIPPINES.gif
bottom of page