top of page

The Longer I Stay the more Attached I get... (Day 14-20)

Updated: Sep 29, 2018



August 20,2018|DAY 14

It’s Monday today so that means that I’m going to Mitra Harapan I woke up at 7 in the morning since my class is at 8 o’clock. I was ready at 8 then Mbak Ana knocked into our room and told me that my schedule was changed and I should be in school at 10:05 I was a bit shocked but it’s a good thing since I was able to eat breakfast then I went back to sleep. When we arrived to Mitra Harapan they told me that I would first go to the 3rd grade class mathematics and then I would be a teacher assistant to Ibu Tirsan for two grade levels in English. When we entered the 3rd grade class the students were so happy to see me and I felt touched since that’s how they reacted. I was not able to understand it much since the teacher discusses it in bahasa and not in English. I assisted the teacher in giving the activity to the students and then I went back to my chair since it’s like a mini test so I can’t help the students in answering it. Ibu Tirsan entered the room because I have to follow her since we need to go to the 5th grade class for English she told me that I would explain few things to the students. I was a bit shocked since I was not informed ahead of time meaning I am not prepared at all but I have no choice but to do it. The students greet me nicely and the lesson began, Ibu Tirsan discussed it a little then she told me that I should explain it the students, I tried my best in explaining it the easiest way possible so the students could understand. I am not quite sure if they really understood it since when I asked them if they understand it no one responded. Then Ibu Tirsan explained the lesson in Bahasa and I think they understood it better after discussing it in the language they are comfortable with. After the discussion Ibu Tirsan told them to answer the book so I assisted her in checking the answers of the students.


I went near to each of the table of the students and I tried to explain it to them if they can’t understand it. After that we checked the answers and Ibu Tirsan told me that I should call the students to tell what the answer is. Time flies so fast when we are enjoying while they were copying the notes there was an incident that happened one of the students forgot to bring his notebook and another student told it to Ibu Tirsan everyone is pinpointing at him and he burst into anger he was stumping his feet loudly and placing his things on his table hardly I was a bit shocked since the teacher is not doing or reacting about what happened because if that is in the Philippines the teacher would really get mad. Ibu Tirsan explained to me that the boy is really sensitive and he was not mad to her but to his classmates who was teasing him. She said that she does not usually interfere with those things since it would only lead to worst scenarios she lets her students handle it. The class in the 5th grade ended so we entered to the next class which is in the 4th grade same subject which is English. The students we’re also delightful to see me and the feeling is mutual this is the first time I entered the 4th grade class. They have a short quiz today Ibu Tirsan told me that I should discuss few things before she gives the test to the students but I think I failed in this part since I did not know where they are at, it was a bit late when I realized that I should have given examples about giving command.


While they were having a test Ibu TIrsan went out because she has to get something from the teachers office so I supervised them while she’s gone. One of the student asked if she could drink water so I asked her if she’s done and if she is she should give me her paper. Since it’s the usual thing we do in the Philippines and then another student told me that she wants to drink water but she’s not yet finish in the test that’s why I did not allow her. I told Ibu Tirsan about it and she complimented me so I thought that it’s the same rule in the Philippines but I think she was not too strict since some students asked to go to the comfort room and even if they are not yet finish in the test she allowed them. After the test they were asked to answer in their workbooks about numbers in English, and then the class ended. We went back to the faculty room and I asked the book in math also few questions in making the lesson plan. We got our free lunch and went back to our dorm. We arrived at 2 pm and the dorm feels empty since there were only 2 buddies that time, Mbak Ana and I ate our lunch together then I went back to our room to take a nap. We woke up to a knock and it was the Thai participants they gave us donut that was given by their mentor. We ate rocket chicken for our dinner then Mbak Ana brought us something that is made from chicken, flour, and egg it tastes good since it’s like I’m eating the chicken skin. Then Julia came with her sister she introduced her to us then she left and told us that she would return tomorrow. After eating we went back to our room and ended our day with a full stomach.



August 21,2018|DAY 15

I woke up at 7 today because I need to be at school at 8:05, while I was preparing it was already 7:50 but my buddy is not yet at the dorm she was just a bit late and she brought her car, so today is car day not motorcycle. We arrived to Mitra Harapan on time then Ibu Tirsa told us that we are going to the 6th grade class. I saw Pak Sigit inside the office then we went to the classroom of the 6th grade. Then Ibu Tirsa told me that I should teach them how to make a sentence since they would have a short quiz so I should review them before giving the test. While I was discussing Pak Sigit went inside that’s when I realize that he will observe me since this week is for teaching assistant but I am a teaching assistant since last Thursday. After 5 minutes he went out and he gave me two thumb up before he left then I continued the lesson. After giving examples Ibu Tirsa gave the test already since there’s still 15 minutes left she told me that I should think of a game to kill the time. So I thought of a game wherein I would give a sentence to the last person of the row then they would tell the right verb to the next person until it reaches to the front person and they will write it to the whiteboard. Then a student cried since he did not understand the question I felt bad since I saw a student cry but the purpose of the game is to have fun but after the game it was break time so I comfort him and I think he got a lot better after that.


We went back to the faculty and Ibu Tirsa asked me what I already accomplished in my lesson plan so I showed her and she said it’s good I should finish my lesson plan in the school but I am not that comfortable in making the lesson plan there because I can’t think of ideas because I felt pressured. Then we went to the next class which is in the 3rd grade math class. Ibu Tirsa told me that I would assist there so the teacher dictate the problem first then she asked me to discuss about subtraction it’s good that the students are good in speaking in English and they easily understand me so I felt relieved. One of the students told me that her classmate said a bad word so I told that student that he should not do it then I was shocked that student cried so once again I tried to comfort that boy. After the math class we went back to the faculty and we talked about what I should include in my lesson plan and one important thing is the activity sheets which are good that they told me since I was not planning in giving them.


Ibu Tirsa told me that I should attend another class, so I went to the 2nd grade and everyone there is screaming and shouting so the teacher told them to keep quiet but since it’s still there break time the teacher told me what I should teach them in English after the break so we went back to the faculty and mbak Ana talked to Ibu Tirsa that we have to go home since she still needs to study they allowed us to go home and we were able to go back at the dorm at 11:30 we ate the free lunch given to us which is fried chicken. Kim and Julia went out to eat their lunch so I was left alone so I just fixed my laundry and went to sleep. When I woke up at 3 pm I got my laptop and started doing my lesson plan and the activity sheets but I was not able to do the quiz since I’m too hungry to think. The buddies are out since they went to the mosque to pray because tomorrow is the celebration of idul adha. One of the buddies knock in our room which is mbak Nafi and asked us what we wanted to eat for dinner so said we want lele penyetan so we ordered it in go jek. When the food arrived I noticed that the sambals with tomatoes is not available, penyetan for me is not penyetan without the sambals with tomatoes that was one of the saddest meal we had. Julia came back to the dorm and she brought sticky rice for us we tried it and the powder that is on top of the sticky rice taste like espasol in our country. We told her about the penyetan and she said that if it’s in go jek we should order the sambals with tomatoes and we’re like oh that’s why. After that we had a long conversation about funny things we went to sleep thinking that tomorrow is a rest day.


August 22,2018|DAY 16

We thought that we have no activities today and we will only have barbeque at night. Then someone knocked in our doors at 6:30 in the morning and I was still half asleep when I opened it. They told me that we should witness how they traditionally kill the cows and goat in celebration of idul adha which feast of sacrifice. Then I told them that we will wake up at 7 so I went back to sleep. After we’re done preparing they told us that we’ll leave at 9 o’clock so we just waited inside our room. We went to the campus and we saw a big tent where a lot of people are cutting the meat and packing it on a traditional basket that looks like a box.


Then Julia brought us outside where they kill the animals I was scared since I don’t want to see how they kill them but Julia told us that it is a good experience to see. They kill it with only one slash the head should be separated to the head I asked them why and they said that it’s the rule in their religion since if they cut it more than once it would damage the soul of the animal. My body really shook since I can’t handle the sight. Then we went to the international office they gave us food for breakfast which is nasi jotos and we stayed there for a while. Julia told us to see how they cut the meat and we should also try to cut it at first I was a bit hesitant but you know we should try it if they asked us to do it. Then when I held the meat I was shocked since it’s really hot and I could feel the pulse even if it’s only a small part of the meat. Then we went back to the international office again and wait for a while since they would give us free meat, Julia also told us that the meat would be given to the person in need who seldom taste good quality meat which is beef.


Then we went back to the dorm Pak Sigit and Ibu Lusi went to the dorm and we talked about our experiences in the school where we’re assigned, after the good conversation we had we took a nap. I told myself I should wake up at 3 pm since I have a lot of things to do in preparation of me teaching in the class next week. I heard someone knocking at our door and it was 2:00 Mbak Ana told me that we should eat lunch it was given by Ibu Happy she cooked the meat from the campus which is sate and gulai. I tasted it and it was gamy but it taste okay since I could imagine the process before it was turned into a dish. I went back to my room and went back to sleep I heard my alarm but I turned it off since I’m still too sleepy. I woke up at 5 and I immediately get my laptop the good thing is I’ve finished the important and urgent things. They called us since it’s barbeque night and they grilled some barbeque like what we usually do in Korean restaurant. I tried to cook the meat and I was able to cook a lot of meat for them. After eating we had a great talk since it’s been a while that the buddies were a bit complete since Julia is not present that time and there are few buddies who was not there as well. This day is productive and has many new experiences there’s few more days left before we bid farewell to them and I feel a bit sad already.




August 23,2018|DAY 17

Holiday is finish now so we’re going to Mitra Harapan again; l went to school at 7:30 since we have an assembly and I am going to present about the educational system of the Philippines. We arrived on time and we went straight to the hall where the children are waiting for the assembly to begin. I was looking at the children and I was startled when they told me that it’s time for me to present. So I presented it and it’s a bit sad since there’s no one who interpreted it and I noticed that the children could not understand what I’m saying. The morning assembly ended early since the sound system is not working so the morning song they usually sing was not played and they went back to their classrooms.


I entered the 2nd grade class and the subject is mathematics there topic is addition and they were taught about the two methods which is the short and long one. They had an activity which is they answered something on their books. They checked it together and Ibu Evan is really patient since the students in the 2nd grade keeps on talking and standing and yet she still manages to smile and be nice to them, she disciplines them without shouting or making harsh comments. Then we had break time I went back to the faculty and I asked Ibu Tirsa if the lesson plan I made for English is okay. Then we went to the first grade and the subject is English, when we entered the room all of the students said Ms. Nadine with their cute voices and they all hugged me my heart is so happy. She told us that there is no discussion today but only a test but it’s okay if we want to observe. When the test started all of the students where calling Ibu Evan’s name because they have question and she was really nice and she never forgets to keep a smile on her face. One student cried since she does not know the answer to the test, she cried the whole period and I was trying my best to help her but not giving the answers, she was able to finish it and finally she stopped crying.


I helped some students since there are a lot of students who needs help. 1st grade students are so cute and you would really adore them even if all of them keep on talking and standing. After the test they were asked to draw and color, the students were calling me and telling something to me in bahasa I just smiled and I tried to give the best reaction even though I can’t understand what they are saying. Then Ibu Evan played a song about the ABC and the sang all together. There is still 5 minutes left and the students suggested the song entitled “good morning” all of them stood up when the song played and they danced together it was a good sight it brought happiness to me as well it was a good morning indeed. Then we went back to the faculty since it’s lunch break already, Ibu Mega asked me about the lesson plan, worksheets, and quiz I made and I showed it to her the good thing is the only adjustment I have to make is to add more items to my worksheets and test. Supposedly in my schedule the next class I’ll visit is the 1st grade but different section but the schedule is wrong so they just made me go to the second grade class and the subject is English. I was able to stay in the class just for 30 minutes they answered something on the book about Graham Bell’s invention which is the telephone. Then I went back to the faculty and I talked to Ibu Tirsa about what materials I would use. She also asked about what my major is, I had difficulty in explaining since they have different educational system but I tried my best in explaining it. Then we ended our conversation and we went back to the dorm they gave us free food and it’s noodles.


When I entered the room Kim and Julia was there and I told Julia we should order nyo coklat since it’s really nice. Then we ate together and the nyo coklat is still good I think I would miss this when I go back to the Philippines. After eating of course the usual thing we do is sleep. I woke up at 5:30 and I get my laptop and start editing the worksheets and quiz. Then Julia went inside our room and asked us what we want to eat we told her to suggest something and she suggested soup with beef inside so we said okay let’s order that. We ate it and the meat is limited so we just placed a lot of soup in our rice to make it tasty. After eating we went back to the room and went to sleep.




August 24,2018|DAY 18

We went to Mitra Harapan at 8:05 and we arrived there a bit early, when we went inside the faculty there was only 3 teachers there. Ibu Tirsa told me that the grade 3 students are still training for their scouting and they will be back after 20 minutes so I discussed first about the lesson plans I made for English class in grade 6 about gerund she gave me suggestions specially in using media. Ibu told me to download some videos regarding the topic. We only have on class to attend today since there’s a rule in Indonesia that on Friday everyone should go home early because in the Islam religion they have to pray at 11 o’clock so they have to be sent home before that time. We went to the 3rd grade and the subject is mathematics. Ibu Tirsa told me to discuss about the activity in their books which is to arrange the numbers from smallest to biggest. So I discussed to them and gave an example so they could understand it most of the students understood but there are few who didn’t so Ibu Tirsa translated the things I said in bahasa. After they answered the activity Ibu Tirsa made me checked their books and it’s funny when they saw my signature and they even touch it slowly.


After that Ibu Tirsa made them answer the next page which contains multiplication and division I was a bit surprised since a lot of students do not know how to compute it but Ibu Mega told me that they already know multiplication when I teach them it’s like a review only. That’s not what I observed since I asked them if they know multiplication and they answered me that they forgot it already. So when I am going to teach in the class which is next week I would make sure to give my best so the students could understand the concept of multiplication and hopefully they would understand it. The class ended already and we went back to the faculty where we talked about the new schedule given to me I asked few question about it and Mas Puji told Ibu that we should go since he has to go to the campus at 10 o’clock so we bid farewell and we left already.


I arrived at the dorm at around 10:25 and Julia was waiting for us outside since she has to go to the campus as well. I was alone in the dorm so I just cleaned my dirty clothes and ironed some of the uniforms, finally Kim arrived and we are both hungry already but since we can’t go out without the buddies we contacted them to tell that we are hungry. They brought food at around 12 which is rocket chicken and I still felt hungry after eating since the chicken and rice is only small serving. They told us that we would go somewhere at 1 pm so we should be ready by that time. We went to a place where we had a small event there. The senior high school students asked us few questions about our culture and our experiences here in Madiun. The administrators gave us a token which is Batik and free meal that contains krupuk, vegetable, noodle, and chicken. They were so nice and hospitable in giving those things to us.


We took pictures afterwards and we returned to the dorm, I asked Julia if we could go to the supermarket to buy souvenirs for my family in the Philippines so she said she would inform us after she’s done tutoring students. While I was watching a movie Julia called me that we could go to the supermarket at 7 pm. Me, Kim, Julia, and Mbak Ana went there they assisted us in getting the famous snacks and food in Indonesia so we could give the best one for our family. We had fun since the grocery is big and there are a lot of variants to choose from. We ate at fat guys and we treat Julia and mbak Ana since they gave us there precious time just to accompany us. We played a game there and it was really fun, I had a great time because we were able to bond and have fun with them outside the dorm. We went home late at around 9 pm and we fixed the groceries and that’s how my day went.



August 25,2018|DAY 19

Today Saturday meaning we have city tour the agenda is we will go to a beauty salon where they do makeup for traditional wedding of Javanese. We woke up early and we are already ready at 7 since they told us that we should be prepared at 7 but they said that it was postponed and we will leave at 9. We went out first to get some dinner and we bought soto but the meat is beef and I also ordered orange juice. It was good but there are only few meat inside the soup.


he orange juice is not processed but it was freshly squeezed it was a great meal to start my day. When we went back the car and Ibu Lusi was for us already, I thought it will be a long drive but it was only a short one when we arrive I heard a song then Ibu Lusi told us that is a traditional wedding song. Then we went inside a room it’s like a showroom the owner introduced herself but it is in bahasa Indonesia so the volunteers sat behind us they translated it but it’s a bit difficult to understand since the volunteers have different understanding so the translation is also different. Then she made us face the other side where she will present about the traditional wedding there are parts before the grand wedding happens it’s like in our country wherein the male has to go to the female’s family and ask permission to her parents, they also give gifts before the wedding happens. Then the clothes they wear are also very traditional but some part of it like the flowers they already created a fake one also in the women’s makeup they use a sticker but the real one uses real makeup.


After the presentation she chose the Thailand student to be the model and she will be a bride of the day and she will give it for free. So we waited and it’s more than an hour but the next speaker was there already so we went back to our chairs and listened to the speaker he discussed about the keris which is part of the clothes of the men. He also told us about what the keris symbolizes. I learned a lot about the traditional wedding and it’s interesting since in the Philippines it’s usually the modern one and I have not seen the traditional wedding. When the presentation ended the thai participant and one of the male volunteers were dressed as a couple in the wedding we teased them and we took a lot of pictures after that. Then our lunch was served it is noodles with a crispy and edible bowl. It was delicious meal and there is a desert/drink that contains fruits with water. Then we went back to the dorm and we immediately sleep since we were really tired. We were supposed to go to church but we were not able to wake up. We used go jek to order our food and we ordered lele penyetan but this time we made sure to buy the sambals with tomatoes so it was a great meal and we went back inside our room to make presentation for our class on Monday since we are the one who is going to teach. After a long night we were able to sleep at 12 midnight and that’s how my day went.



August 26,2018|DAY 20

We were told that we should go to car free day but since we were absolutely exhausted yesterday we weren’t able to get up. We woke up at 8:30 in the morning and I immediate got my laptop to do more presentation because on Monday I have 2 subjects to teach which are the first grade English and third grade mathematics. Presentation was my breakfast Julia sent a message that we wait for her and eat brunch together with her little sister.


When she arrived we ate at rocket chicken which is walking distance from our dorm. After eating we went to a store Taman Sari they are selling traditional snacks of Madiun we went there by go car we paid 14,550 rupiah and it’s good price compared if we use grab car. I bought a lot there like the salak chips, tempe chips, krupuk, sambals, brem and a lot more for my family in the Philippines. We went back to the dorm and I took a short nap, after that we went outside because we needed to print something that will be used for tomorrow. It’s our first time to go out without the buddies. Kim told me confidently that she knows the way to Boom Mart so we went without anyone. We were able to go to the printing shop but when we are going to the Boom Mart we got lost and we keep going back and forth so we decided to call our buddies to help us.


Mbak Ana was doing something so her sister Mbak went to look for us and we were able to go to Boom Mart Mas Puji followed afterwards since he is near Boom Mart, it was a funny experience for us and lesson too. We went back to the dorm and we ordered Nasi Goreng with cow’s skin in go jek. After eating we immediately returned to our room since we have to do our instructional materials that I need to use the next day. Since Kim and I have the same subject and topic we decided to just make one beautiful instructional material and both of us can use it for our lesson. We sleep late since the instructional material is big and has lots of details in it we went to sleep at 1 in the morning and that’s how my day went.


2 views0 comments
000 PHILIPPINES.gif

Nadine

000 PHILIPPINES.gif
bottom of page